Himachal Pradesh

Notes, Himachal

Himachal Pradesh is the northernmost state of India.

Himachal shares its boundary with 4 states – Punjab, Hariyana, Uttrakhand, and Uttar Pradesh and with 2 union territories – Leh and Jammu Kashmir.

Himachal is a land of Devi Devtas (local gods) for which it is called DEV BHOOMI

  • Himachal was formed on 15th April 1948 by merging Mandi, Suket, Chamba, Sirmaur, and 26 other smaller states (celebrated as Himachal Day).
  • The name Himachal was given by Acharya Diwakar Datt Sharma
  • The State of Himachal Pradesh Act was passed on 18 December 1970 by the parliament and the Himachal became India’s 18th state on 25th January 1971. (celebrated as Himachal’s statehood day)

The population of Himachal is – 6,864,602 in which 3,481,873 are males and 3,382,729 are females. (Census of India 2011)

Capital of Himachal Pradesh

Himachal is a state with 2 capitals

  • Shimla
  • Dharmshala

Shimla was the first capital of Himachal later on 19 January 2017 Dharmshala becomes the winter capital of Himachal Pradesh.

Himachal Pradesh Map

MapHimachal 1
Himachal Pradesh 3

Figures (2011)

Latitude:30o 22’ 40″ N to 33o 12’ 40″ N
Longitude:75o 45’ 55″ E to 79o 04’ 20″ E
Height (sea Level):350 meter to 6975 meter
Population 68,64,602 persons
Geographical Area 55,673 sq. km
Density (per sq. Km.) 123
Females 972(per 1000)
Birth Rate [2002]:22.1(per 1000)
Death Rate [2002]:7.2(per 1000)

Administrative Structure

 State Capital: Shimla
No. of Districts:12
No. of Tehsils:169
No of Divisions:3
No. of Sub Divisions:71
No. of Police Stations:129
No. of Blocks :78
No. of Urban Local Bodies:54
No. of Gram Panchayats:3226
No. of Villages:20690
No. of Towns:59
No. of Parliament Constituencies:
      Lok Sabha:4
      Rajya Sabha:3
No. of Assembly Constituencies:68

Development Indicators

Per Capita Income (at current rates):Rs. 130067
Literacy [2011]:82.80 %
      Male:89.53 %
      Female:75.93 %
Total Villages Electrified:100 %
Health Institutions:3919
Motorable Roads:36049 Kms.
Food Grain Production:1619 Metric Tones
Fruit Production:928787 Tonnes
Sex Ratio:972


Net Area Sown:543365 Hects.

FOREST COVER [1996-97]

Reserved Forests Area:1897.87 sq. km.
Protected Forests Area:33129.7 sq. km.
Unclassed Forest Area:886.23 sq. km.
Other Forests Area:369.49 sq. km.
Forests not under the control of forest Deptt.:749.58 sq. km.
No. of Wild Life Sanctuaries:30

Other details

Average Rainfall:1469 mm
State Animal:Snow Leopard
State Bird:Western Tragopan
State Flower:Pink Rhododendron
State Language:Hindi & Local Dialects

Himachal Pradesh CM (Chief Minister)

Himachal Pradesh 4

Himachal Pradesh Districts

Himachal has 12 districts

  1. Bilaspur
  2. Chamba
  3. Hamirpur
  4. Kangra
  5. Kinnaur
  6. Kullu
  7. Lahaul & Spiti
  8. Mandi
  9. Shimla
  10. Sirmaur
  11. Solan
  12. Una

Himachal Pradesh Rivers

There are 5 main rivers in Himachal Pradesh

  1. Satluj River
  2. Beas River
  3. Ravi River
  4. Chenab River
  5. Yamuna River

Click here for more Himachal Pradesh Rivers

Himachal Pradesh Lakes

Man-made lakes in Himachal Pradesh

  1. Gobind Sagar Lake
  2. Pong Dam Lake
  3. Pandoh Dam Lake
  4. Chamera Lake

Natural lakes of Himachal Pradesh

  1. Manimahesh Lake
  2. Ghadasaru Lake
  3. Khajjiar Lake
  4. Lama dal Lake
  5. Chandragupta
  6. Dal Lake
  7. Kareri Lake
  8. Machhiyal Lake
  9. Kumaarwah Lake
  10. Parashar Lake
  11. Rewalsar Lake
  12. Kamrunag Lake
  13. Mantilai Lake : –
  14. Dashar lake
  15. Sarwalsar/Sareulsar lake
  16. Suraj Tal Lake
  17. Chandra Tal lake
  18. Neelkanth lake
  19. Chandra Nahan lake : –
  20. Karali lake
  21. Bradonsar lake
  22. Sorang lake
  23. Nako Lake
  24. Renuka lake
  25. Saketi/Suketi lake

Click here for more – Himachal Pradesh Lakes

Have any suggestions… Let us know


Leave a Reply

Google search