Senior IPS officer Sujoy Lal Thosen was appointed as the new Director General of the CRPF

Current Affairs

  • Senior Indian Police Service (IPS) officers Sujoy Lal Thaosen and Anish Dayal Singh have been appointed as the new director generals of the CRPF and ITBP respectively.
  • Sujoy Lal Thaosen, a 1988-batch officer of the Madhya Pradesh cadre, is currently working as the director general (DG) of the border guarding force Sashastra Seema Bal (SSB) and holding the additional charge of the Indo-Tibetan Border Police.
  • The Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) DG post fell vacant after IPS officer Kuldiep Singh (1986-batch West Bengal cadre) retired from service.
  • Sujoy Lal Thaosen has been holding the additional charge of ITBP DG after his batchmate and incumbent Sanjay Arora was appointed Delhi Police Commissioner in August.
  • Anish Dayal Singh, also a 1988-batch officer (Manipur cadre), is currently serving as a special director in the Intelligence Bureau.
  • He has worked on many desks and handled various investigations during his tenure in the central intelligence agency.
  • Sujoy Lal Thaosen is scheduled to retire in November next year, while Singh will superannuate in December, 2024.
  • The order for their appointment was issued by the Personnel Ministry after sanction from the Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC) headed by the prime minister.
  • The CRPF is the country’s largest paramilitary with an estimated strength of about 3.25 lakh personnel. It is designated as the lead internal security force with its main operational theatres being Left Wing Extremism-affected states, counter-terrorist combat in the Kashmir valley, and counter-insurgency operations in the north east.
  • The ITBP is primarily tasked to guard the 3,488 km stretch of the Line of Actual Control (LAC) with China apart from rendering a variety of duties in the internal security domain of the country.

Click here for more Current Affairs

Google search