Delimitation Panel

Current Affairs

Why in News

The National Conference (NC) has, in a letter to the Jammu and Kashmir Delimitation Commission (headed by retired Supreme Court Judge Justice Ranjana Prakash Desai), sought details of the agenda of the upcoming meeting with parties from the Union Territory.


Delimitation means the process of fixing limits or boundaries of territorial constituencies in a state that has a legislative body.

Constitutional Provisions (pre imp)

Under Article 82, the Parliament enacts a Delimitation Act after every Census.

Under Article 170, States also get divided into territorial constituencies as per Delimitation Act after every Census.

How it is done 

Delimitation is undertaken by a highly powerful commission. They are formally known as Delimitation Commission or Boundary Commission.

These bodies are so powerful that it’s orders have the force of law and they cannot be challenged before any court.


According to the Delimitation Commission Act, 2002, the Delimitation Commission will have three members: a serving or retired judge of the Supreme Court as the chairperson, and the Chief Election Commissioner of Election Commissioner nominated by the CEC and the State Election Commissioner as ex-officio members.

Google search