Regional Rapid Transit System (RRTS): Connecting Cities at High Speed

Current Affairs, Economy

PM Modi has inaugurated the first segment of India’s groundbreaking Regional Rapid Transit System (RRTS), a high-speed rail network aimed at enhancing regional connectivity.

Understanding the RRTS Project

  • Integrated Mass Transport Network: By improving connectivity and accessibility throughout the National Capital Region, the RRTS is an integrated mass transport network designed to support sustainable and balanced urban development.
  • Source of the Concept: A 1998–1999 study commissioned by Indian Railways gave rise to the idea of RRTS, which envisioned quick commuter trains linking different NCR regions.
  • Planning for the National Capital Region: The National Capital Region Planning Board (NCRPB) suggested eight RRTS corridors to connect NCR municipalities and accepted the RRTS idea when creating its “Functional Plan on Transport for NCR-2032.”

Development Agency

  • Nodal Agency: The RRTS, sometimes referred to as “Namo Bharat,” is being constructed by NCRTC, a joint venture between the Central government, Delhi, Haryana, Rajasthan, and Uttar Pradesh. The Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs is in charge of it.
  • Project Scope: The RRTS project covers an area of around 55,000 square kilometers in the enormous National Capital Region (NCR), providing services to more than 46 crore people, who have a combined GDP estimated at $370 billion.

How do RRTS differ from existing Systems?

  • Impressive Speed: RRTS trains have a 160 km/h operating speed and can achieve a 180 km/h maximum speed on design.
  • Faster in comparison: The average speed of Delhi Metro trains is between 100 and 120 km per hour. Coverage: The RRTS has faster speeds than the current metro systems, which makes it perfect for quickly traveling relatively longer distances throughout the NCR.
  • Comfort and Frequency: RRTS offers better passenger comfort and operates at higher frequency than Indian Railways, even though it travels fewer distances.
  • Foreign Models: The RRTS is modeled after other successful foreign systems, such as the SEPTA Regional Rail in the United States, the RER in Paris, and Regional-Express trains in Germany and Austria.

Objectives of the RRTS Project

  • Increasing Multimodal Connection: By enhancing multimodal connection at current transportation hubs, the RRTS seeks to unleash the potential of the NCR.
  • Decongesting Roads and Rails: Promoting public transit would help to reduce traffic on roads, highways, metro areas, and train lines. This is one of the main objectives.
  • Economic Growth: The RRTS aims to increase economic productivity in the area by enabling reduced travel times, which will enable more businesses to flourish in the suburbs of Uttar Pradesh, Rajasthan, and Haryana.

Corridors under the RRTS Project

  • Eight Corridors: The RRTS project encompasses eight corridors, with three being developed under Phase I:

1. Delhi-Ghaziabad-Meerut (82 km)

2. Delhi-Gurugram-SNB-Alwar (164 km)

3. Delhi-Panipat (103 km)

  • Future Development: Future corridors include routes like Delhi – Faridabad – Ballabgarh – Palwal, Ghaziabad – Khurja, Delhi – Bahadurgarh – Rohtak, Ghaziabad-Hapur, and DelhiShahadra-Baraut.
  • Sarai Kale Khan Hub: The RRTS station at Sarai Kale Khan will serve as the project’s central hub, connecting all three Phase I corridors, and bridging the gap between Delhi and Uttar Pradesh, Haryana, and Rajasthan.

Google search