Bengaluru FC win first-ever Durand Cup title, beat Mumbai City FC in final

Current Affairs

  • On September 18, 2022, in a clash of former Indian Super League champions, Bengaluru FC edged Mumbai City FC 2-1 to claim their first Durand Cup title. Siva Sakthi (10th minute) and Alan Costa (61st) scored for the winners in the final of the 131st edition of Asia’s oldest football tournament at Salt Lake Stadium, Kolkata. Lalengmawia Ralte got the lone goal for Mumbai City in the 30th minute.
  • Chief of Army Staff Manoj Pande, West Bengal Governor La Ganeshan and West Bengal Sports Minister Aroop Biswas handover the Durand Cup-2022 trophy to Bengaluru FC captain Sunil Chhetri at Vivekananda Yuba Bharati Krirangan stadium, in Kolkata.
  • Apuia scored the only goal of the match for Mumbai City. Durand Cup Football Tournament is the 131st season of the Durand Cup football tournament began on 16 August 2022. 20 teams participated in the tournament. Durand Cup was organized for the first time in several cities of West Bengal, Assam and Manipur.

Google search