Ajit Kumar Mohanty becomes the new chairman of the Atomic Energy Commission

Current Affairs

  • Renowned physicist and Director of the Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC) Ajit Kumar Mohanty has been appointed as the chairman of the Atomic Energy Commission and the secretary of the Department of Atomic Energy.
  • Mohanty succeeds K N Vyas to the posts that oversee India’s nuclear programme and forays into harnessing atomic power for civilian needs.
  • He will be responsible for overseeing India’s nuclear program and exploring the use of nuclear energy for non-military purposes.
  • Ajit Kumar Mohanty’s tenure will be till 10 October 2025 or until further orders. Mohanty was appointed as BARC director in March 2019.
  • Mohanty worked in many areas of nuclear physics, covering collision energy from the sub-Coulomb barrier to the relativistic regime at the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR), USA and CERN, PHENIX and CMS experiments at Brookhaven National Laboratory (BNL).

Google search